East Dorset District Scouts comprises fourteen Scout Groups, four Explorer Units and one Network Unit spread across the whole area covered by East Dorset District Council.  Corfe Mullen forms the border in the west, St Leonards and St Ives/Alderholt the easterly border, Longham the south and Sixpenny Handley the north.  There are more than 1200 young people taking part in weekly meetings in East Dorset District Scout groups and the programmes and activities in which they are involved incorporate adventure, challenge and fun.

The Scouting family is made up of Beavers, Cubs, Scouts and Explorer Scouts ranging in age from 6 years to 25 years.

In Christchurch District there are Beaver Colonies, Cub Packs, and Scout Troops at Christchurch Town, Jumpers, Somerford, Mudeford, Highcliffe, Burton and Bransgore.  Mudeford is a Sea Scout Troop and there are also plans for the 22nd Christchurch (Hurn) Air Scout Group to open its doors very soon.  Explorer Scout Young Leaders’ Units meet near Jumpers, Mudeford, Highcliffe, and Bransgore and the newly formed Network Unit covers the whole area.

The purpose of Scouting is to contribute to the development of young people in achieving their full physical, intellectual, social and spiritual potential as individuals, as responsible citizens and as members of their local, national and international communities.

The JTYAF is delighted to support East Dorset District Scouts and has added Christchurch District Scouts to the list of supported organisations for 2016.

Application process

Complete an application form and submit it to your Scout Leader.